NewsSports News

2023 Ghana Football Awards: Mohammed Kudus Crowned Footballer of the Year (FULL LIST OF WINNERS)

Accra, Ghana – In a thrilling ceremony held at the Accra International Conference Center (AICC) on Sunday, June 25, 2023, Ajax star Mohammed Kudus was crowned the Footballer of the Year at the prestigious 2023 Ghana Football Awards. The 22-year-old emerged victorious over tough competition from Genk forward Joseph Paintsil and Lens midfielder Abdul Salis Samed, solidifying his position as one of Ghana’s brightest football talents.

The Ghana Football Awards, an annual event that celebrates outstanding achievements in Ghanaian football, recognized the remarkable performances and contributions of players, coaches, and clubs in both male and female football categories. The event brought together the who’s who of Ghanaian football, creating an atmosphere of excitement and anticipation.

READ ALSO: Kudus, Messi, and Vinicius Jr. Shine as Top Dribblers in Europe

Kudus, known for his exceptional technical skills and versatility on the field, has been making waves in European football since joining Dutch club Ajax in 2020. His consistently impressive performances have earned him recognition not only in Ghana but also internationally. Winning the Footballer of the Year award is a testament to Kudus’ dedication, talent, and impact on the game.

The awards ceremony also celebrated other outstanding individuals and teams in Ghanaian football. ASFAR’s Blessing Shine Agbomdzi claimed the title of Women’s Footballer of the Year, showcasing her prowess and influence in the sport. Evans Adotey, the coach of Medeama, was honored as the Men’s Coach of the Year, while Nana Joe Adarkwa, the coach of Ampem Darkoa Ladies, received the Women’s Coach of the Year accolade.

READ ALSO: Ghana’s All-Time Leading Scorer Asamoah Gyan Officially Retires From Football

Additionally, Ernest Nuamah, representing FC Nordsjaelland, was awarded the Odartey Lamptey Future Star Award, highlighting his potential to become a future star in Ghanaian football. Medeama SC, a prominent club in Ghana, was voted as the Male Club of the Year, showcasing their excellence and success in the sport.

The 2023 Ghana Football Awards recognized several other notable achievements, including the Goalkeeper of the Year, Home-based Footballer of the Year, Goal of the Year, and various other categories. The event aimed to honor the hard work, talent, and dedication that drives Ghanaian football forward while inspiring the next generation of players and enthusiasts.

READ ALSO: Thomas Partey Tempted with $200 Million Offer from Saudi Arabian Club

As Ghana continues to produce exceptional football talents, the Ghana Football Awards serve as a platform to acknowledge and celebrate their accomplishments. Mohammed Kudus’ crowning as the Footballer of the Year solidifies his status as a rising star, bringing pride and excitement to football fans across the nation. His journey serves as an inspiration to aspiring players and reinforces Ghana’s reputation as a hotbed of talent in the footballing world.

Below is the full list of winners at the 2023 Ghana Football Awards:

Footballer of the Year

Mohammed Kudus – Ajax

Women’s Footballer of the Year

Blessing Shine Agbomdzi – ASFAR, Morocco

Men’s Coach of the Year

Evans Adotey – Medeama

Women’s Coach of the Year

Nana Joe Adarkwa – Ampem Darkoa Ladies

Odartey Lamptey Future Star Award

Ernest Nuamah – FC Nordsjaelland

Goalkeeper of the Year

Felix Kyei – Medeama

Home-based Footballer of the Year (Male)

Sampson Eduku -Tamale City

Home-based Footballer of the Year (Female)

Mary Amponsah – Ampem Darkoa Ladies

Ghana Premier League Goal King

Abednego Tetteh

Women’s Premier League Goal Queen

Princess Owusua – Fabulous Ladies

Goal of the Year

Serge-Eric Zeze – Asante Kotoko

Best Ghanaian Club CEO

Moses Parker – Medeama

Male Team of the Year


Female Team of the Year

Ampem Darkoa Ladies

Best African International

Victor Osimhen – Napoli

Most Vibrant Club on Social Media

Asante Kotoko

Special Fan (s) of the Year

Die Hard Supporters Union

Thumbs Up Award

Robert Coleman

Living Legend Award

Alberta Sackey

Sir Sam Jonah



Gh Blinks

Gh Blinks is a young industrious, motivated, passionate, highly productive, and creative blogger and writer with strong communication and problem-solving skills. He has a couple of awards and honors to his credit.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button